The Yankees on Wednesday reportedly signed minor-leaguer Nick Tropeano, who might be the only pitcher to ever throw a one-pitch strikeout.
Yes, a one-pitch strikeout.
It was with Houston Astros’ Double-A affiliate in 2013 when the Long Island native threw a called strike on the first pitch, which was quickly argued by then-Athletics minor-leaguer Vinnie Catricala.
Catricala stepped out of the batter’s box to plead his case, and refused to re-enter when told.
So, the umpire called him out, in accordance with 5.04 of the MLB rulebook: “If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out.”
“Tonight I might have made history with a ‘One Pitch Strikeout’. I’ll take it haha!!!” Tropeano tweeted at the time, as it’s unclear whether anyone else has recorded the one-pitch strikeout.